Pay supplier invoices by card: dozo, Apron, Bluechain, Xero and Capital on Tap

Choose dozo if you want to pay with any UK credit and debit card, personal or business. Choose Bluechain or Apron if you pay with Visa or Mastercard and want no monthly plan. Choose Xero bill payments if you already pay bills in Xero. Choose Capital on Tap if you hold its card and want the lowest fee.

Published . Updated .

A supplier that does not take cards can still be paid with your card. A bill payment service charges your card and pays the supplier for you, for a fee. This page compares five UK services that do this for small businesses. The biggest difference between them is which cards they accept.

Which should I choose?

  • Choose dozo if you want to pay with a card that is not Visa or Mastercard, business or personal. dozo takes any UK credit and debit card at the same fee.
  • Choose Bluechain if you pay with a UK Visa or Mastercard and want no monthly plan and no payment limit from the service.
  • Choose Apron if you want the supplier paid the next working day, and accounting sync with Xero or QuickBooks.
  • Choose Xero bill payments if you already pay your bills inside Xero and use Visa or Mastercard.
  • Choose Capital on Tap Bill Pay if you already hold a Capital on Tap card and want the lowest fee.

Switching is probably not worth it if your card already works with the service you use and the supplier is paid on time.

Side by side

Checked on 15 October 2026, from each service’s own website.

dozo Apron Bluechain Xero bill payments Capital on Tap Bill Pay
Cards accepted Any UK credit and debit card, personal or business. From 26 October 2026, cards from outside the UK at 3.5%. Cards from the UK, the US and Singapore. One more charge-card brand for selected customers only, on business or corporate cards. UK Visa and Mastercard. Other brands only for select supplier partnerships. Visa and Mastercard only Capital on Tap’s own credit card only
Card fee 2.5% or 2.3% with a UK card, by plan 2.5% 2.5% 2.9%, at least £2.50 2% with 1% cashback, or 1%
Monthly plan £29 or £79 Free to £49, and £99 from 1 December 2026 None Xero plan, from £18 plus VAT None needed for the free card
When the supplier gets paid On or after the payment-out date that you choose. The earliest date is 5 days after today. The next working day at about 2pm, if you pay before midnight UTC 2 business days after you pay, or 3 for a new supplier The next working day, typically by 2pm By the end of the next business day
Limits £1 to £20,000 per payment, and at least £100 from 26 October 2026. £10,000 or £150,000 a month. Not stated No limit from Bluechain. Your card limit applies. Not stated Your credit limit
Accounting sync No Xero and QuickBooks Xero and Sage It is the accounting software Sage, Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent and more
Access Open to anyone 18 or over in the UK, after an identity check UK-registered businesses UK residents who own or work for a registered business Xero customers who set up bill payments Ltd, LLP and PLC companies. Beta with a waitlist.

Price of the same invoices

Fees from each service’s website on 15 October 2026. dozo prices with a UK card.

Small business: £3,000 of invoices in a month, as 3 payments of £1,000.

Service Plan Card fee Total for the month
Capital on Tap Bill Pay £0 £30 at 1% (or £60 at 2%, with £30 back) £30
Bluechain £0 £75 £75
Apron (Go plan) £0 £75 £75
dozo (£29 plan) £29 £75 £104
Xero bill payments (Ignite) £18 plus VAT £87 £105 plus VAT

Larger business: £20,000 of invoices in a month, as 10 payments of £2,000.

Service Plan Card fee Total for the month
Capital on Tap Bill Pay £0 £200 at 1% (or £400 at 2%, with £200 back) £200
Bluechain £0 £500 £500
Apron (Go plan) £0 £500, plus 5 extra supplier payments at £1.20 £506
dozo (£79 plan) £79 £460 £539
Xero bill payments (Ignite) £18 plus VAT £580 £598 plus VAT

dozo is not the cheapest here. It costs less than Xero bill payments. The real difference is the card: if the other services do not accept yours, their lower fee does not help you.

These totals assume that Apron counts each invoice as one supplier payment, and that Xero is your only accounting cost. Your own card may also charge interest if you do not clear the balance.

Where the others are better

  • Speed. Apron, Xero and Capital on Tap pay the supplier the next working day. Bluechain takes 2 or 3. With dozo, the earliest payment-out date is 5 days after today. For an invoice due this week, dozo is the slower choice.
  • No plan. Bluechain and Apron’s Go plan have no monthly fee, so a business with a few small invoices pays less.
  • Accounting sync. Apron, Bluechain and Capital on Tap connect to accounting software. dozo does not.
  • Lowest fee. Capital on Tap’s 1% is the lowest, but only with its own card. Capital on Tap says that its Bill Pay payments are not card payments and have no chargeback rights.

Switching to dozo

  1. Sign up and choose a plan. £29 a month covers up to £10,000 of payments a month, and £79 covers up to £150,000.
  2. Pass the identity check. You upload a passport, driving licence or national ID card, and a proof of address. A person on the dozo team reviews them before your first payment.
  3. Add each supplier. You enter the name, sort code and account number. dozo checks the name with the supplier’s bank. A close match or no match stops the payment. If the check cannot run, you can accept that and continue.
  4. Make one small test payment first. Choose a payment-out date before the invoice is due, and check with the supplier that the money arrived.

dozo does not connect to accounting software, so you record each payment and its fee in your books yourself. Nothing needs to change for your supplier. Your supplier does not need to take cards.

About this comparison

Prepared by the dozo team. Facts checked on 15 October 2026 from each service’s own pricing and help pages, listed under Sources. We update this page when a service changes its prices or cards.

For a closer look at one service, see dozo vs Apron, dozo vs Bluechain, dozo vs Xero bill payments and dozo vs Capital on Tap.

Sources

  1. Apron charges a 2.5% card fee on every plan, before and after 1 December 2026 getapron.com
  2. Apron's Go plan is free with 5 supplier payments a month, then £1.20 each support.getapron.com
  3. Apron supports cards issued in the UK, the US and Singapore, pays the supplier the next working day at about 2pm if you pay before midnight UTC, and opens one more card brand to selected customers only support.getapron.com
  4. Apron's selected-customer card brand works only with business or corporate cards, and not for tax payments, payroll or payments to individuals support.getapron.com
  5. Bluechain accepts UK Visa and Mastercard cards, and other brands only for select supplier partnerships help.bluechain.com
  6. Bluechain charges 2.5% on credit and debit cards, with no sign-up or subscription cost and unlimited payments bluechain.com
  7. Bluechain pays suppliers two business days after you pay, or three for a new supplier help.bluechain.com
  8. Xero charges 2.9% of a card bill payment, at least £2.50, and supports only Visa and Mastercard for domestic GBP bills xero.com
  9. Xero's Ignite plan costs £18 a month, excluding VAT xero.com
  10. A Xero bill payment reaches the supplier the next working day, typically by 2pm xero.com
  11. Capital on Tap Bill Pay is a beta with a waitlist, pays from your Capital on Tap credit line, and charges 2% with 1% cashback or 1% with none capitalontap.com
  12. Capital on Tap Bill Pay settles by the end of the next business day, for UK payees in sterling only capitalontap.com
  13. A Capital on Tap Bill Pay payment is not a card payment and has no chargeback rights capitalontap.com
  14. Capital on Tap's Free card plan has no annual fee capitalontap.com
  15. dozo plans cost £29 or £79 a month, with a card fee of 2.5% or 2.3% per payment with a UK card and a monthly limit of £10,000 or £150,000 dozopay.co
  16. dozo takes any debit or credit card issued in the UK, allows £1 to £20,000 per payment (at least £100 for a payment created from 26 October 2026), and pays the payee on or after the payment-out date that you choose, once your card payment has reached dozo. The earliest date is 5 days after today. From 26 October 2026, a card issued outside the UK can pay, with a 3.5% card fee dozopay.co

Pay your next bill by card.

Add the bill, confirm the payee and pay by debit or credit card. Your supplier does not need to take cards.

Get started